In the next few years, all the major synchrotron radiation facilities around the world will be upgrading to 4th generation Diffraction Limited Storage Rings (using multi-bend-achromat technology). Several Free Electron Lasers are ready-to-go or in phase of completion. These events represent a huge challenge for all the Optics physicists, responsible of the calculations needed to design and produce the new optical elements, able to deal with the revolutionary characteristics of the new photon beams.

Therefore, the target of the SOS (Software for Optical Simulations) workshop is to put together leading experts in optics for synchrotron and FEL radiation with authors and developers of state-of-the-art optical simulation software tools. The workshop aims at demonstrating the usage of software packages, and facilitating the exchange of information and ideas about known issues, possible developments, and future challenges in optical simulations.

The workshop concept stems from the international collaboration of optical simulation software developers from ESRF, ANL, BNL and Elettra. This began during the SPIE 2014 conference, and was further consolidated with a meeting at BNL in October 2015. The main goals of the collaboration are to share information about recent accomplishments and coordinate next efforts between leading teams in Europe and in USA in the area of software development for simulating SR/FEL Sources and X-Ray Optics.

The SOS workshop is not only suited for software developers or expert users, but also for scientists, researchers and students approaching the matter for the very first time. Thus it represents an opportunity to approach the optical simulation tools in a very effective way. The workshop could also be thought as an embryo of a possible future international school of Optics for Synchrotron Radiation.

A special session will be dedicated to industrial applications of optical simulations, in order to show usages, challenges and targets in different applied research fields.

Workshop Poster can be downloaded in A3 format (297 x 420 mm) here


Local Organizing Committee
Elettra - L. Rebuffi
Elettra - M. Zangrando
ESRF - M. Sanchez del Rio