Third CompactLight Midterm Meeting

The Third CompactLight Midterm Meeting was held virtually in Glasgow, via Vidyo in reality, on 16 - 18 June 2020 with the participation of almost 80 scientists, including external experts and representatives from interested industries (not all on the photo).

The CompactLight project, which started in January 2018 and has just been extended until December 2021, gathers world-leading experts united to achieve two objectives: disseminate X-band technology as a new standard for accelerator-based facilities, and advance undulators to the next generation of compact photon sources. The goal of CompactLight is to facilitate the widespread development of X-ray FEL facilities across and beyond Europe by making them more affordable to build and to operate.

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 777431.


Project Coordinator: Gerardo D'Auria (ST)
Deputy Project Coordinator: Andrea Latina (CERN)
Administrative Coordinator: Regina Rochow (ST)

PARTNERS & Third Parties:

ANSTO - Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation - Australian Synchrotron
ARCNL - Advanced Research Center for Nanolithography
AUEB - Athens University of Economics and Business
UA-IAT - Ankara University Institute of Accelerator Technology
BNG - Bilfinger Noell GmbH
C.E.R.N. - European Organization for Nuclear Research
ALBA-CELLS - Consorcio para la Construccion, Equipamento y Explotacion del Laboratorio de Luz Sincrotrón
CNRS - Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique - Laboratoire Scientifique LAL
CSIC - Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientìficas
Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste S.C.p.A. (Lead Partner)
ENEA - Agenzia nazionale per le nuove tecnologie, l'energia e lo sviluppo economico sostenibile
I.N.F.N. - Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare - Laboratorio Nazionale di Frascati
IASA - Institute of Accelerating Systems and Applications
KIT - Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Kyma Srl
KyTe - Kyma Tehnologija d.o.o
NTUA - National Technical University of Athens - School of Applied Mathematical and Physical Sciences
PSI - Paul Scherrer Institut - Research Department Synchrotron Radiation and Nanotechnology (SYN)
SINAP - Chinese Academy of Sciences - Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics - Shanghai Synchrotron Radiation Facility
STFC - Science and Technology Facilities Council - Headquarters
Sapienza Università di Roma (fino al 2006 Università degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza)
Stichting VU Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam - Faculty of Science
TU/e - Technische Universität Eindhoven
UH-HIP - University of Helsinki (Helsingin Yliopisto) – Helsinki Institute of Physics
ULANC - Lancaster University
UniToV - Università di Roma ‘Tor Vergata’
UoM - University of Melbourne - School of Physics - Experimental Particle Physics
University of Oslo
University of Strathclyde - Department of Physics
Uppsala University
VDL ETG Technology & Development B.V.
Last Updated on Tuesday, 15 December 2020 16:17