Congratulations to New APS Fellows William M. Fawley and Maria N. Piancastrelli!



Elettra is proud to announce that William M. Fawley, collaborator of Elettra Sincrotrone Trieste in the framework of the FERMI Project since the early beginning and Maria Novella Piancastrelli, member of Elettra Scientific Advisory Council, have been elected Fellows by the American Physical Society (APS).
APS fellowship is a distinct honour signifying recognition by one's professional peers for exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise and it is reserved to no more than 0,5% of the APS members.

William M Fawley (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory) has been nominated by the Division of Physics of Beams "for his sustained contributions to beam physics, leading to the successful operation of coherent light source user facilities based on free-electron laser and related concepts and driving developments in intense relativistic electron and heavy-ion beam transport".

Maria N. Piancastelli (Uppsala University) has been nominated by the Division of Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics "for her studies of electronic structure and dynamics of core-excited and core-ionized atoms and molecules by means of x-ray spectroscopic tools”.




Last Updated on Tuesday, 30 December 2014 15:13